top of page
South Sunnybank RLFC - Logo 2018.jpg

​Souths Sunnybank Rugby League Club was founded in 1967 by Jim Murdoch.  With one junior team initially, it quickly grew to four junior teams the following year.

In 1970 the club won its first of many premierships and in 1971 added its first senior team.

Souths Sunnybank is proud to be one of the only two clubs that have played in the Brisbane 2nd Division senior competition every year since its inception in 1971. 

Souths Sunnybank has a long, proud history producing many representative players that include NRL, Queensland and Australian representative superstars Mark Coyne, Lote Tuqiri and Johnathan Thurston.


As is the tradition of this club we are now starting to see third generations of players coming through our ranks. Numerous past players returning to pass on the traditions and experience they had learned during their past involvement with this mighty club.


In 2007 we celebrated our 40th anniversary with over 500 past and present Souths Sunnybank members, staff and players attending and reminiscing. In 2017, we celebrated our 50th anniversary at our 50th anniversary Gala Ball with the new and the old members of our Sunnybank community as well as special guests speakers.


Our role in the community is not just about the on-field activity, we are a community orientated not for profit club that has a rich and successful past.  With our well developed blueprint and a finger on the pulse of new innovations in our game, we will carry the club and its members into the future.


SSRLFC Application for Membership (Submit via email to Secretary or into club)

SSRLFC Constitution

bottom of page